The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will consider two Arkansas properties for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places, including Campbell Station #2 at Campbell Station, when it meets at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Aug. 1 in room 170 of the Tower Building at 323 Center Street in Little Rock, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced recently.

The board also will consider nine Arkansas properties for nomination to the National Register of Historic Places. Campbell Station #2 on U.S. 67 at Campbell Station is a small tourist cabin built around 1942. The loss of nine other buildings in the complex precludes its National Register listing. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically noteworthy places that are not eligible for recognition for listing on the National Register of Historic Places. "The Campbell Station Cabins provided needed housing during World War II in the Newport, Arkansas area to support both the construction of and staffing of the Army Air Force Training School at Newport Airfield, which is located between Arkansas State Highway 14 and 18," according to the National Register nomination. Properties to be considered for National Register nomination are South Main Street Residential Historic District Boundary Increase at Little Rock in Pulaski County; Building No. 29 near Walnut Ridge in Lawrence County; Charles "Bullet" Dean Hyten House at Benton in Saline County; Gregory House at Augusta in Woodruff County; Whittington Park Historic District at Hot Springs in Garland County; Mary Greenhaw Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church South at Marshall in Searcy County; Belle Grove Historic District Expansion at Fort Smith in Sebastian County; Walker Family Plot at Fayetteville in Washington County; and Rogers Historic Commercial District Expansion at Rogers in Benton County. The board will also consider Belleville Methodist Episcopal Church South at Belleville in Sevier County for listing on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201; call the agency at 501-324-9880 (TDD 501-324-9811); send an email to; or visit the AHPP's internet web site at The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state's cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.