Arkansas State University-Newport announced Thursday that Quyen Vo, Tomeka Thomas and Brittney Smith have been elected as officers for the 2012-13 school year for the school’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter.

Thomas (Newport, Ark.) was elected chapter President, Smith (Newport, Ark.) was elected Vice-President and Vo (Corning, Ark.) was elected as Secretary of ASUN’s chapter, Beta Nu. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year community college students. To be eligible for this program, students must complete at least 12 hours of credit and maintain at least an 3.50 grade-point-average. Arkansas State University-Newport is a degree granting community college with campuses in Jonesboro, Marked Tree and Newport, Arkansas. It is a part of the Arkansas State University System. For more information about what is going on at ASU-Newport, visit us on our Facebook page at, where you will find news and photos highlighting achievements and events at all three campuses. Follow us on Twitter for quick information about what is going on at ASUN by following @ASUNewport.