Sports - Newport Independent - Newport, AR http://www.newportindependent.com/article/20121204/NEWS/121209910/1020/SPORTS newportindependent.com delivers up-to-the-minute news and information on the latest top stories, weather, entertainment, politics and more. Sun, 25 Feb 2018 06:39:11 +0000 Baseball and Jackson County's George Kell http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180223/baseball-and-jackson-countys-george-kell?rssfeed=true Fri, 23 Feb 2018 10:48:29 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180223/baseball-and-jackson-countys-george-kell Bulldogs Win District http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180222/bulldogs-win-district?rssfeed=true Thu, 22 Feb 2018 13:16:13 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180222/bulldogs-win-district Newport Seniors Recognized http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180219/newport-seniors-recognized?rssfeed=true Mon, 19 Feb 2018 12:52:30 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180219/newport-seniors-recognized Daytona 500 turns emotional as Dillon wins with last-lap bump http://www.newportindependent.com/zz/news/20180218/daytona-500-turns-emotional-as-dillon-wins-with-last-lap-bump?rssfeed=true Mon, 19 Feb 2018 02:11:24 +0000 By Godwin Kelly GateHouse Media Florida http://www.newportindependent.com/zz/news/20180218/daytona-500-turns-emotional-as-dillon-wins-with-last-lap-bump Jr. High Lady Bulldogs win http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180216/jr-high-lady-bulldogs--win?rssfeed=true Fri, 16 Feb 2018 13:06:39 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180216/jr-high-lady-bulldogs--win Greypups Lose in Semi-Finals http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180214/greypups-lose-in-semi-finals?rssfeed=true Wed, 14 Feb 2018 13:41:11 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180214/greypups-lose-in-semi-finals Tuckerman Top Dog in Basketball http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180207/tuckerman-top-dog-in-basketball?rssfeed=true Wed, 07 Feb 2018 12:12:48 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180207/tuckerman-top-dog-in-basketball Greyhounds Lose to Heber Springs http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180207/greyhounds-lose-to-heber-springs?rssfeed=true Wed, 07 Feb 2018 12:10:57 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180207/greyhounds-lose-to-heber-springs Newport Basketball http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180202/newport-basketball?rssfeed=true Fri, 02 Feb 2018 10:41:02 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180202/newport-basketball Lil Dribblers perform in Jonesboro http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180127/lil-dribblers-perform-in-jonesboro?rssfeed=true Sat, 27 Jan 2018 11:32:31 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180127/lil-dribblers-perform-in-jonesboro Hounds Gear Up http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180126/hounds-gear-up?rssfeed=true Fri, 26 Jan 2018 13:06:58 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180126/hounds-gear-up Newport Loses to Southside http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180125/newport-loses-to-southside?rssfeed=true Thu, 25 Jan 2018 12:01:22 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180125/newport-loses-to-southside Newport Greypups 4-0 Conference http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180119/newport-greypups-4-0-conference?rssfeed=true Fri, 19 Jan 2018 11:09:43 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180119/newport-greypups-4-0-conference Newport Basketball http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180113/newport-basketball?rssfeed=true Sat, 13 Jan 2018 13:05:37 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180113/newport-basketball JCSD Girls Head Basketball http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180111/jcsd-girls-head-basketball?rssfeed=true Thu, 11 Jan 2018 11:08:39 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180111/jcsd-girls-head-basketball Alabama beats Georgia, 26-23, in overtime to win the national championship http://www.newportindependent.com/zz/news/20180108/alabama-beats-georgia-26-23-in-overtime-to-win-national-championship?rssfeed=true Tue, 09 Jan 2018 05:35:09 +0000 Gatehouse Media http://www.newportindependent.com/zz/news/20180108/alabama-beats-georgia-26-23-in-overtime-to-win-national-championship Lady Hounds Place in Tournament http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180104/lady-hounds-place-in-tournament?rssfeed=true Thu, 04 Jan 2018 13:18:55 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20180104/lady-hounds-place-in-tournament Coach Atchley! Newest Lady Hound http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171227/coach-atchley-newest-lady-hound?rssfeed=true Thu, 28 Dec 2017 11:58:36 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171227/coach-atchley-newest-lady-hound Up Close with Bulldog Coach Josh Bateman http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171218/up-close-with-bulldog-coach-josh-bateman?rssfeed=true Mon, 18 Dec 2017 13:47:59 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171218/up-close-with-bulldog-coach-josh-bateman Newport Beats Augusta! http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171215/newport-beats-augusta?rssfeed=true Fri, 15 Dec 2017 15:01:32 +0000 Amanda Reynolds http://www.newportindependent.com/sports/20171215/newport-beats-augusta