Arkansas State University-Newport announced Monday that its enrollment of 2,160 for the Spring 2013 semester represents a new high-enrollment mark for the two-year University.

The record enrollment surpasses the previous high of 2,102 set during the Fall 2011 semester. “Obviously, we are very pleased with our enrollment numbers for the Spring 2013 semester,” said ASUN Chancellor Dr. Larry Williams.  “Traditionally, our higher enrollment numbers have come during the fall terms, so raising the bar higher during the spring term is a testament to the hard work and dedication of our staff and faculty, and to the quality and quantity of programs offered here at ASU-Newport.” “Much of our growth can be attributed to an emphasis by all of our staff and faculty on student retention, and for their emphasis on utilizing the PACE Grant to enhance student success,” Williams continued. The PACE Grant was awarded by the U.S. Dept. of Labor to accelerate certification and degree programs by restructuring higher education, enabling students to meet the needs of specifically targeted industries of Advanced Manufacturing and Healthcare.  PACE is made up of a consortium of all 22 two-year colleges in the state of Arkansas. “The faculty and staff at Arkansas State University-Newport continually strive to develop programs of study that enable our students to succeed in the workforce,” added Williams. ASU-Newport currently offers 30 degrees and/or technical certifications and 11 certificates of proficiency in 17 fields of study, with more to be added in the Fall 2013 semester. Arkansas State University-Newport is a degree granting community college with campuses in Jonesboro, Marked Tree and Newport, Arkansas.  It is a part of the Arkansas State University System.  For more information about what is going on at ASU-Newport, visit us on our Facebook page, where you will find news and photos highlighting achievements and events at all three campuses.  Follow us on Twitter at @ASUNewport for quick information about what is going on at ASUN.