Nineteen students from Arkansas State University-Newport were inducted into the Beta Gamma Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa during a lunchtime ceremony on the ASUN Newport campus Wednesday.

Phi Theta Kappa serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  To be invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 hours of course work and have earned a GPA of at least 3.50. Arkansas State University-Newport students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Wednesday were Eric Bowers of Bay, Melissa Webb of Bradford, Andele Patterson of Diaz, Carina Leonard of Harrisburg, Chance Shueren of Heber Springs, Jesse Hardwick, Danny Parsons, Derek Patsey, Jarvis Wright and Tammy Yates of Jonesboro, Jhonny Martinez, Charm McClendon, Brittney Smith and Katayia Washington (formerly of Hot Springs) of Newport, Vennie Armstrong, Logan Riley and Cody Shoffner of Tuckerman, Oleta Barnes of Trumann and Kaitlyn Riggin of Weiner. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany and Japan. Arkansas State University-Newport is a degree granting community college with campuses in Jonesboro, Marked Tree and Newport, Arkansas.  It is a part of the Arkansas State University System.  For more information about what is going on at ASU-Newport, visit us on our Facebook page at, where you will find news and photos highlighting achievements and events at all three campuses.  Follow us on Twitter at @ASUNewport for quick information about what is going on at ASUN. This and other releases about Arkansas State University-Newport can be found online