LITTLE ROCK-The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission has approved applications for Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Historical Markers in Jackson and Benton counties, ACWSC Chairman Tom Dupree announced today.

 The Jackson County historical marker will be located at Jacksonport State Park and will discuss the 1862 shelling of Jacksonport by the C.S.S.Maurepas. The Jackson County Historical Society is sponsoring the marker.

      The Benton County historical marker will be located at Rogers City Hall and will discuss Camp Halleck and Union activity at Osage Springs in 1862. The Rogers Historical Museum is sponsoring the marker.

      Through the Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historical Marker Program, the ACWSC works with local partners to help tell the stories of how the Civil War affected communities around the state. The Commission hopes that there will be at least one marker in each of the state's 75 counties by the end of the commemoration in 2015. To date, 62 markers in 40 counties have been approved.

      For more information on sesquicentennial plans, visit<>or<>.

      The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission is housed within the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program. The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state's cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.