Arkansas State University-Newport's Gamma Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently elected its officers for the 2013-14 school year, with Jhonny Martinez of Augusta (center) being elected to serve as President.

Logan Riley of Tuckerman (left) was elected Vice-President, while Kaitlyn Riggin of Weiner (right) was elected as Secretary. Phi Theta Kappa serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. To be invited to join Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 hours of course work and have earned a GPA of at least 3.50. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, Germany and Japan. submitted photo