Brent Lassiter (center), vice president of Jackson County Farm Bureau, was honored for the county’s work over the past year at the 79th Arkansas Farm Bureau annual convention Dec. 5 in Little Rock.

Presenting the award were Randy Veach (left), and Rich Hillman, president and vice president, respectively, of Arkansas Farm Bureau. Each county Farm Bureau is measured in 10 program areas and awarded “Gold Stars” for exemplary effort in each one. Jackson County earned nine “Gold Stars. Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private farm and rural advocacy organization of more than 190,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life. submitted photo