The 7th Annual Newport FFA Banquet was held on May 3rd, where the 2016-2017 chapter officers were appointed into office. The 2016-2017 officers are as follows, President: Dawsyn Smith, Vice President: Breanna McAllister, Secretary: Katie McCorkle, Reporter: Madi Driver, Treasurer: Hannah Hembrey, Sentinel: Jade Plummer, and Junior Advisor: Braiden Burzynski. Senior FFA member, Madeline Lewis, gave her speech “From the Growing Field to the Battlefield”, which she will be competing with at this year’s State Leadership competition on May 31st, in Hot Springs, Arkansas.  Konner Holland, the Arkansas FFA Eastern District State Vice President, gave a speech on his experiences in the FFA organization.  He spoke on how FFA affects the lives of many.

Numerous awards were given to the many exceptional FFA members including Dawsyn Smith who received the Star Chapter Farmer Award, Katie McCorkle who received the Star Greenhand Award, Anna Dale Mears who received the Outstanding Senior Award and several other awards for the many who competed in Leadership Events and Career Development Events throughout the year. Mrs. Ronnie Kay Erwin was presented with the Honorary FFA Degree for her outstanding involvement in the Newport FFA Chapter. The Newport FFA chapter continues to grow with the help of its Ag teachers and many appreciated supporters.