Jackson County Judge Jeff Phillips was elected by his peers to serve as secretary/treasurer of the County Judges’ Association of Arkansas. He replaces Lonoke County Judge Doug Erwin, who was elected 2nd vice president of the association.
The recent election took place at the county judges’ fall meeting, held Sept. 20-22, 2017, in Fort Smith (Sebastian County).
His term as secretary/treasurer will last two years. Per County Judges’ Association bylaws, he will become 2nd vice president of the association in 2019 if he seeks and wins re-election in 2018.
Judge Phillips, a retired Newport fireman, has held Jackson County’s highest seat since 2011.
The County Judges’ Association of Arkansas is one of nine affiliate associations under the Association of Arkansas Counties’ (AAC) umbrella. Each affiliate association elects its own officers and holds its own continuing education seminars throughout the year. Each of the affiliate associations is represented with two members on the AAC board of directors.