Governor Asa Hutchinson, AEDC Executive Director Mike Preston, AEDC Executive Vice President of Operations Amy Fecher and Rural Services Director Alex Johnston presented $947,407 to 14 rural communities selected for funding through the Rural Services Block Grant Program for Fiscal Year 2018. The grant awards were distributed October 10th at an awards ceremony held in the Governor’s Conference Room at the Arkansas State Capitol.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Services Block Grant award on behalf of Grubbs in Jackson County.  The City of Grubbs received $64,257 to renovate the former school cafeteria for use as a community center.

The Division of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to select the Rural Services Block Grant recipients.  The grant program is funded through HUD's Small Cities Community Development Block Grant Program and is administered for the state and the Division of Rural Services through a partnership with the Arkansas Economic Development Commission Grants Division. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population and that are at least 51% low-to-moderate income are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge’s office.