Dawsyn Smith, member of the Newport FFA Chapter, will lead the more than 14,000 members of the Arkansas FFA Association for 2018-19.

            Members elected the 18-year-old to her presidential position during the 91st Arkansas FFA Convention April 25. Smith previously served as the Newport FFA President and is the daughter of Dewayne and Deann Smith.

            Five additional FFA members will join Smith on the 2018-19 Arkansas FFA State Officer team: Grace Harris, Horatio FFA, secretary; Raven Randolph, Hillcrest FFA, reporter; Griffin Prior, Cabot FFA, eastern district vice president; Zachary Andrews, Camden-Fairview FFA, northwest district vice president; and Alex Slaughter, Lake Hamilton FFA, southern district vice president.

With the new team of officers to accompany her, Smith shared her vision for Arkansas FFA in 2018-2019.

“As team leader I want to set a good example for my teammates and the Arkansas FFA members; furthermore, I want to show our members that their potential is limitless,” Smith said.

FFA is an integral part of the Agricultural Education division in the Arkansas Department of Career Education. The Arkansas FFA Association has more than 14,000 members and 202 chapters. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. To learn more about the Arkansas FFA, visit arkansasffa.org.