The Batesville Area Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony was held on June 23 at 6 p.m. at the Batesville Community Center. The 20th class was inducted which included two past Jackson County coaches, Don Fowler and George Snelgrove.

Don Fowler was a Swifton High School and Arkansas College graduate, where he played basketball and baseball. As a successful high school basketball coach, his cumulative senior boys’ teams record was an amazing 595-190, an average of almost 20 wins and six losses per season, according to the Batesville Guard. His teams won numerous district and regional titles and participated in several state tournaments throughout his career. He coached teams at Sulphur Rock, Swifton, Bradford, Oil Trough, Pleasant Plains (Midland) and Newark (Cedar Ridge).

George Snelgrove was the coach of the 1973 Tuckerman Bulldog State Champions. He coached several successful high school basketball teams during a 14-year coaching career which included schools such as Sulphur Rock, Oil Trough, and Tuckerman. His senior boys teams posted 363 wins and 109 losses, collecting six district and region titles. He also coached Oil Trough to a state championship in 1966 and had two Arkansas High School Coaching Association All-Star assignments, including the head coach position for the 1973 East team. Snelgrove, an Arkansas College graduate, later served as a school administrator for 22 years, mostly at Batesville High, totaling a 36-year career in education.

Jackson County is proud of these men for their contributions to sports and education.